The CNP is staffed entirely by volunteers. Meet some of our members.

Theo Slater

Theo Slater, Chair

Theo is an attorney who lives and works in Sacramento. He joined the CNP out of his desire to build a party focused on building a better future for California – not serving the interests of big donors. He is committed to building an organization that can serve and represent California’s diverse communities.

Chuck Beretz

Chuck Beretz, Secretary

Chuck believes many Californians are disengaged from politics because we have so little influence on national policy and wants to change that. He wants his children to grow up in a nation that has one-person one-vote and no taxation without representation. He works in the technology industry and lives in San Diego.

Justin Hibbard

Justin Hibbard, Treasurer

Justin is a sixth-generation Californian and a forensic accountant who lives and works in San Francisco. Like many other members, he joined the CNP after the 2016 presidential election convinced him California could do better. His daughter attends public school in San Francisco.


Matthew Vitale, LA Chair
Ben Brent, Orange County Chair
Timothy Irvine, Sacramento Chair
Cynkay Morningsong, Sonoma County chair
Graham Balch, Marin County Chair
Ken Brucker, San Diego Chair
John Owens, San Francisco and San Mateo County Chair
Manuel Carrasco, Placer and Nevada Counties Regional Lead
David Gregory, Glen, Colusa, Butte, and Tehama Counties Regional Lead
Carol Wolf, Fresno and Madera Counties Regional Lead


Mike Mendez, Chair of Hispanic Network
Jay Rooney, Press Secretary (on leave)
Margo Drgos, Acting Press Secretary
Harris Mowbray, CNP Youth Caucus Chair
Ray Serrano, Lead Data Scientist